Baked vanilla strawberries & cream oatmeal.

Here’s a secret about me. Whenever I feel stressed out, I have to do something that allows me to take my mind off of the current situation.

My go-to stress reliever is cooking and baking.

Maybe it’s the immediate gratification I receive by having made something delicious. Maybe it’s the fact that I get to eat whatever I’ve just made. Maybe it’s the step-by-step recipe instructions that ends with the creation of something wonderful.

I bet it’s all of those reasons rolled into one. I think it’s interesting that my go-to for feeling less stress is something that I can just do without thinking. I read the recipe, pull out all of the necessary ingredients, turn on the oven or stove, combine each ingredient in a process completely laid out for me, and, in a certain about of time, I have something to eat.

Simple as that. How wonderful! Why doesn’t life have a book of recipes? Which reminds me, I made a recipe book for Ms. Brown’s class in high school that laid out the story of my life. Super fun project!

Without further adieu, here’s the recipe that melted my stress away last night:

Baked Vanilla Strawberries & Cream Oatmeal from A Cozy Kitchen (wonderful food blog)!

Strawberries… vanilla… rolled oats… cream… milk… and butter!

I adapted A Cozy Kitchen’s recipe slightly because I just couldn’t bring myself to buy vanilla bean. It’s just so expensive and time consuming. One day, though, I will make this recipe with the vanilla bean.

This baked oatmeal was the best treat last night and such a delicious breakfast this morning. Thank you, A Cozy Kitchen, for turning my stress into a delicious meal!

Leave a Reply

