Willingness.

“Do not ask the Lord to Guide your Footsteps if you are not willing to move your Feet.”

I don’t know who wrote this, but I think it’s magnificent.

I am quick to ask for something, yet neglect to put any effort into the change I seek whatsoever.

And isn’t that the tendency?

I have to ask myself why I feel so entitled. It may be cause of the way I grew up. If I was hungry, I told someone and food arrived at my fingertips in mere minutes – if not moments.

It is most difficult to realize that the Lord does not owe me a single thing. I owe him my life and devotion. Without him, I wouldn’t have life.

Instead, I live most of my days quite the opposite of the way I should.

The ultimate compromise: if I am eager for him to change my circumstances, I need to be equally as eager to actively change them as well.

Leave a Reply

